It’s The End Of The World As We Know It – Or Is It ?

I will be the first to admit. I don’t believe in a lot of stuff. I like proof. I like to listen to all sides of an arguement before I make a decision.

With that said, I don’t think the world is really going to end this year. As I’m sure you all know, the Mayan Long Date Calendar ends on December 21, 2012. And some people are predicting the end of the world.

I just don’t think it’s that easy. I think if the world was really going to end there would be SOME warning signs. Somebody somewhere would be doing something. Or maybe there ARE people doing something but they’re just not telling us. Hmmm, you know secret government installations being built inside a mountain somewhere. There will be some national lottery and only brilliant poets and scientists will be invited. But you know the government would screw it up some way. They’d forget to bring electrictians or plumbers or carpenters. So the mountain would be filled with all these brilliant people who can’t make or fix anything in the real world.

But let’s assume for a minute that the world was ending in 355 days what would you do? And let’s assume that you could only choose 5 things. And that everyone in the world was given time and money to do any five things they wanted to do. What would those 5 things be?

Here are my top 5 in no particular order:

  1. Have a family reunion. My family used to go on these family reunion cruises before all the kids got older and had their own families. They were a pain in the neck to organize and someone was always complaining. But you know what, they were a ton of fun and brought my family closer than it has ever been before or since.
  2. Visit the pyramids. I’ve been all over the world, but somehow the Great Pyramids have escaped me. I’ve always wanted to go. I would make a point to go there this year.
  3. Buy a really fun car and take a lot of car trips. I’ve spent a lot of time in the car as a kid. Car trips to California, Yellowstone, Florida. The time in the car with my sisters and my parents was really a lot of fun. Now I fly places. I think I would slow down and take my family on a car trip.  I have no idea what kind of car I would buy for this trip. Perhaps a 1970’s station wagon.
  4. Watch all the DVDs I’ve purchased over the years. Someone once said, the best way never to watch a movie again is to buy the DVD. I have a lot of DVDs. I’d make sure I watch at least on per night.
  5. Save on thing for later in the year. I don’t know everything at this moment. Perhaps later in the year I’ll discover I love painting or kniting or biking or something new.  I didn’t know last year how much I’d love to play the guitar. So, I’d leave on for a surprise, even if I never get to it.

What would you do.  In the comment section below (not on FACEBOOK but here) list what you would do. Even if it’s one thing. I’m curious to see what others would do. After all, I saved one for later. Perhaps you can influence my decision.

Because I don’t really think 2012 is the end of time. But as they say in the NY lottery commercials, ‘hey, you never know…

Happy 2012.

3 thoughts on “It’s The End Of The World As We Know It – Or Is It ?

  1. 1. Attend the cordon blue for a semester and master the art of pastry making.
    2. Busk in the subway for three songs…just so I can say I’ve done it. Currently looking for a guitarist.
    3. Shop a TV pilot to a production house that has the power to get it optioned.
    4. Dive in the Maldives. I did Egypt last year and was let down. (The pyramids are a lot smaller than you’re expecting, but still impressive. Just oddly diminutive.)
    5. Do something really scary…. like try stand-up.

  2. I’ve given this less thought than I should have, but if the clock is ticking towards the end of the world I probably shouldn’t waste my time. Our time.

    1) I have studied thousands of buildings and paintings in school so I want to finally travel the world to see them. As I’m taking in the beauty of these distant countries I want to eat- a lot. I want to eat everything I can and drink everything they have to offer. Nothing would be a tourist destination. Everything would be an exploration. I want to talk to everyone and anyone I can. I want to know how they live, what makes them want to wake up in the morning, what enhances their life. And the tree was happy.

    2) I would get married at the Sleepy Hollow church. Just the right amount of history, folklore and sentiment in that old girl- so I can’t think of a more perfect place. I’d probably do this in November so everyone can say ‘ well, at least we saw everyone we wanted to before we died’ That way in December, people could do whatever they wanted before the world ends, instead of worrying about getting something off of a registry.

    3) I would buy and old home (with a yard for my dog) and dance to “Hold me, Thrill me, Kiss me” by Mel Carter on a record player, by a fire on my first night there with Ian- incredibly tipsy on whiskey and life.

    4) I would certainly make a time capsule and try to figure out the best way to preserve it (maybe put it in a cave somewhere during my travels. See above.)

    5) I would say whatever I wanted, to whomever I wanted, whenever I wanted. This might seem like a simple one, but I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard people saying things and instead of voicing my opinion, I’ve kept my mouth shut. Why? I have good ideas too, there is no reason to be afraid to say them- but maybe I can thank good old catholic school for that one.

Leave a Reply

