Agent K

When my daughters were younger, we used to have secret agent names for each other. At one point we added the letter “o” to our names, so my secret agent name was Daddy-o, and my daughters we Nikki-o and Kristen-o. But that got old, and we started using Agent R, Agent N and Agent K.

Not too long ago, I found a note hidden in a bracelet box from Agent K. It was written on notepaper and written in pre-teen cursive. Here’s the entire note – I love every word.

Hi, I’m Kris Levy and I like being me. I am comfortable in my skin and I don’t try to be someone I’m not. I really think that’s important, you know. I mean if you hate who you are, then what’s the point of living?

Some people think I’m ugly cause of a bad reputation. I go somewhere where they don’t know me and they think I’m a goddess – so I say: screw ‘em. If they’re not nice to you then why make peace – just ignore them (harder than it seems.) I haven’t quite gotten the knack of it yet.

A little more about me. I am not racist, but I don’t believe in dating out of race. I am nice and a little bit of a nuisance. I hate when people call me “not normal” and what is that? I am as of Feb 19th, 5’ 3” and 100 pounds. If you really care, I have size 8 feet, but that’s if you care.

I am good or personally extremely good at art. I want to be a fashion designer and put myself in my own runways and say hi to my friends back in Philly and say ‘Ha! I made it’ to my enemies. That would be a blast!!!

This is MY chat room – enter if you dare – but I’m warning you, ya better be nice – no cursing. This is a nice chat room. Well, I gotta go. I am kind of tired and my hand hurts so write to me at (—-) and live by this motto – “to fear love is to fear life. Take a deep breath, go for it and don’t ever look back.”

So long for now, yours,
Agent K

I love so much about this. I love that as a pre-teen my daughter knew she wanted to be a designer. And on Monday, she begins a new position as a Store Design Coordinator for Urban Outfitters. It seems she knew all along that this is where she belongs. After a stint at Free People (owned by the same company) – she’s moving onward and upward to the big brand. I’m very proud of her.

I also love that she knew from a young age that she wasn’t going to fit in everywhere. That certain people wouldn’t get her and certain people would treat her like a ‘goddess.’ She has always lived on her terms.

Congratulations Kristen on your new gig. It’s going to be amazing. I always new you could do it. I’m as proud as a father can possibly be. As you said in your hidden note, “go for it and don’t ever look back.”

I love you,

Agent R

2.2.12

Leave a Reply

